Sunday , 20 August 2017

Navarathri – Day 6


Devi Kaatyayani

As mother, Kaatyayani stayed in the Ashram of sage Katyayan for penance, hence she named as Kaatyayani. This 6th Shakti is also astride a lion with 3 eyes and 4 arms. One left hand holds a weapon and the other a lotus. The other 2 hands respectively display defending and granting gestures. Her complexion is golden coloured.

Daily Schedule

Maa Durga should be worshiped with PANCHOPCHAR (Fragrances, Flowers, Inceses, Diayas and Rice) or Shodshopchar.

Worshipping Maa Durga’s incarnation as Katyayini Devi

Maa Durga’s incarnation as Katyayini Devi is worshiped on Sixth day of Navratri. Its Meditation and

Mantras are as follows:
Chandrahasojalkara shardulvarvahna
Katyayinishubham dadha devi daanvaghatini

Mantra: Om Katyayanai Namah

Durga Shaptashati Recitation:

Same way as the first day’s resolution Durga Shaptashati’s recitation should be done; process is same as explained earlier.

If you are reciting according to the Charitras, then you should recite First and Uttar Charitra. If you want to complete the recitation of Shaptashati in 7 days, then you should recite 11th Charitra on sixth day.

If you are completing in eight days then you must recite 10th Charitras on sixth day

Recitation of Shri Ramcharitmanas

Worship in a same way as the fifth day thereafter recites the couplet, “Jo sumirat siddhi hoi gan nayak, kari bar badan…..” And after fifth rest recite till 29th couplet from Aranyakand.

At the end do the Aarti of Shri Ram and Hanuman.

Tags: 6th day of navarathri, navaraathri day 6, kathyayani, katyayani, kaathyani, sixth avataar devi kaatyaayini devi, sixth avataar devi katyaayni

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>